Humalog Lispro and HumaPen Ergo II

A person with type 1 diabetes is unable to produce insulin because of the auto-immune destruction of insulin-producing beta cells in the pancreas. Now that might sound like too much medical jargon, but it only means that I don’t have any insulin in my body! ūüėČ

So, to keep the insulin levels in the right proportion in my tiny body, I need to take insulin injections, which are also very tiny. (you’ll see :P)

This is a detailed article about Humalog Lispro (insulin) and HumaPen Ergo II (insulin delivery device/pen) which I have been using 3 times in a day since past 13 years. Both of them are products by Eli Lilly, a pharma brand.

Humalog Lispro

Description:

  1. Humalog Lispro is a fast-acting insulin meaning that it starts working immediately after administration.¬†Since it works rapidly, it is advisable to eat food immediately after taking the insulin so that one¬†doesn’t fall into a hypo (low sugar level).
  2. It is also a short-acting insulin so the effect remains upto 3-4 hours post administration. Thus, this insulin is taken after every 4-5 hour gap in the day. For me, it is everytime before meal (Breakfast 10 AM – Lunch 3 PM – Dinner 8 PM)

Packaging & Pricing: Insulin comes in two types of packaging, catridge and vial. I use an insulin pen, therefore I buy the catridge pack. They come as individual cartrige or set of 5. One catridge has 3ml or 300 units of insulin. I usually buy the set as it costs lesser and I always need another one soon as 1 cartridge lasts about 10-15 days for me. 1 packet of 5 costs Rs. 2320.

Storing: I store them in the fridge door. The one that stays in the pen always stays at room temperature and NOT in the fridge. Whenever I need to put a new cartridge in the pen, I take the cartridge out half an hour before so that the temperature matches room temperature.

Buying: While buying, I always check the expiry date and make sure I am buying the right solution of Humalog. It comes in a lot of other variations like ¬†Humalog Mix 50/50 or 75/25 etc. I always ask for an ice pack to keep the Lispro cold if I can’t keep it in the fridge in time.

Funsulin_Humalog Lispro

HumaPen Ergo II

Funsulin_Humalog Lispro size

Description: I use the HumaPen Ergo II to inject the insulin. It is mostly the length of a pencil, only fatter :P.

 

Packaging & Pricing: The packaging can be seen in pictures below. It costs Rs. 600.Funsulin_HumaPen Ergo II Box

Longevity:¬†Since it’s a mechanical device, there’s no¬†expiry date as such on the packaging. But for me, this is the third pen since 13 years. I bought my last pen¬†in 2012 and is running smooth. I stopped using the first two pens when the dose knob and dial started to wear off and became very loose. The second pen still works though and I keep it in my travel handbag for emergencies.

Parts: It consists of a case with the pen inside. The catridge and needles (green ones) are not included in the box and have to be bought separately. The pen mostly works like a mechanical pencil. It has a cartridge holder and a dose knob with injection button. A detailed working can be seen here.Funsulin_HumaPen Ergo II

The case consists of a separate slot for an extra cartridge. I really like that as one can keep an extra while travelling. (Though I keep another one in my bag, because what if the cartridge falls and breaks by chance? I don’t like starving myself ever :P)

Other requirements:¬†In order to administer the insulin, there’s a need of a new BD needle (BD is the brand, short for Becton, Dickinson and Company) and a swab (cotton+spirit).

Funsulin_HumaPen Ergo II Use

I’ll do a separate post about the BD needles and swabs. To know what¬†I do when I forget taking my insulin, check my previous post here.

Funsulin_Taking injection

Lastly, that’s me taking 7 units of Humalog Lispro before today’s lunch. ūüėÄ

– Funsulin


This article is not a substitute for medical advice but only my way of doing it.

 

Leave a Reply

